You have received your seal stamp and want to know whether you should better be using sealing lacquer or sealing wax, you are wondering which paper is best for your embosser or how to get your monogram in the email signature? Answers to these and many more questions can be found here.

  • Sealing

    Sealing lacquer or sealing wax?
    Up until today, sealing lacquer is still manufactured from natural ingredients, such as shellac and tree gum. Various additives such as chalk or metal oxides make the color variation. Sealing lacquer is quite hard and crackable and thus not recommended for postal distribution.
    Soft sealing wax though contains a high portion of wax, such as bees wax. This wax maintains nice flexibility even after hardening and doesn‘t break that easily like normal sealing lacquer. Sealing wax is indeed suitable for postal distribution, it‘s non greasy and doesn‘t mark off.

    How to use sealing lacquer or sealing wax?
    There are various methods of processing sealing lacquer and -wax. The most common is to heat up the sealing stick over a flame and drop it off to paper. With this method you‘ll get a seal like it was done in ancient times. Depending on how far or close you hit the flame, carbon black particles are built, which mix up with the wax and give the seal an ancient touch. That soot production can be prevented by using a spirit lamp and by maintaining as much distance as possible between the seal stick and the flame. With a little practice you can light up the sealing wax and drop the wax off circularly starting in the centre to the paper. The wax on the paper will remain on fire, but won‘t burn the paper. Once you‘ve got enough wax on the paper, extinguish the flames with circling moves with the wax stick into the wax droplet. With these circling moves you‘ll give the seal its classical round shape and you‘ll stir up the smut, until it‘s not visible any longer. After that you press the seal for five to ten seconds into the wax – done!

    How to best mass produce seals?
    For that purpose we recommend the modern method of sealing by utilizing a sealing gun and wax-sticks. The gun works like a hot-melt gun. The temperature of the device is set to the melting point of the wax.

    What if my seal pulls strings?
    In that case your seal stamp turned too hot after multiple usage and can‘t take up the energy of the hot wax any longer. The colder the brass head of your sealing stamp, the faster it cools down the wax and hardens it. Cool down your seal stamp in water, on ice or a thermal pack.

    Could I produce seals on bottles or rolls?
    Basically rounded surfaces would be tough to seal onto as the sealing stamp is flat and the liquid material might drop off in strings. One possible solution is to seal on a banderole or any flexible foil with soft wax and wrap it around the item of choice. Or you go ahead and produce some seals onto parchment paper of which you could easily peel it off and later glue it onto your rounded item of choice.

    How to remove residues from my sealing stamp?
    Lacquer or wax residues could be best removed with a wooden toothpick in order to not scratch the sealing stamp. With a nail polish remover or spirit dipped handkerchief one could release the very last residues out of it. Please screw off the wooden handle for that job in any case, as it could be harmed by the chemicals. Swap the sealing stamp with organic oil from time to time. It acts like a separating agent.

    Could I produce seals of other materials?
    Some have been incredibly successful on chocolate, pastry or clay. In any case, approach the ideal viscosity as well as the optimal peel-off time for every single material you‘d like to use.

  • Embossing

    Which paper is suitable for embossing?
    Basically with our embosser you could emboss any paper with weights ranging from 80 to 250 g/m2. But fundamentally important is: the more fibers a paper contains, the better it could absorb the deformation. Ideal are pure cotton papers or vat papers. Please refer to our correspondence paper as an example.

    My embossings aren’t any nice, what could I do?
    As any paper reacts differently to the physical force because of its thickness and structure, some sensitivity and practice are required. Test every paper before going into serious production by varying the pressure you apply. If you are about to emboss very thin paper add a cardboard substrate under the paper you want to emboss. By that you can most likely prevent from unaesthetic rips.

    Could I emboss different images with my caliper?
    With our embossing calipers one can change the embossing plates. So if you‘re intending to use a different image, don‘t hesitate to contact us. For the production of such a new set of embossing plates, you would need to consider – depending on the effort of engraving – around CHF 60.–.

    How do I change the plates of my embosser?
    1. Flap the lever of the embosser up into a vertical position.
    2. Press the round metal plates slightly together and pull them out.
    3. Press the exchange plates slightly together and insert them with the one plate having notches facing downwards into the embosser until they click into place.

  • Digital topics

    When to use JPEG and when to use EPS?
    With JPEG files the image data is defined by single pixels. JPEG‘s advantage is the small data size because of the special compression methods being applied. For these two reason JPEG‘s are widely used in today‘s digital environment. JPEG‘s are good to be used in smaller than the original size, but should never ever being used larger than defined, as very unpleasant pixels or lack of definition might occur. Areas of application: e-Mail signatures, internet applications, digital presentations, …
    With our EPS files all shapes of your sign are defined as vectors (curves and lines). That data is up- and down-scalable without any loss of resolution. Areas of application: Gravure, print, embroidery, …
    Using both formats, almost any application considered will be feasible.

    How to use a monogram in an e-Mail signature?
    Many of today‘s e-Mail clients offer the option to create signatures including attached images in an automated fashion. In order to utilize such a function, just check the options menu of your e-Mail client software or search for „signature“. On a Mac, images are easily embedded with drag and drop functionality. Please consider to have the right size of your image available (100% displayed size should represent 72dpi resolution).

Sie haben Ihren Siegelstempel erhalten und möchten wissen, ob Sie besser Siegellack oder Siegelwachs verwenden sollen? Sie fragen sich, welches Papier am Besten für Ihre Prägezange geeignet ist oder wie Sie Ihr Monogramm in die E-Mail-Signatur bekommen? Antworten auf diese und viele weitere Fragen finden Sie hier.

  • Siegeln

    Siegellack oder Siegelwachs?
    Siegellack, meist aus Schelllack und Baumharzen hergestellt, ist sehr hart und brüchig und ist deshalb für den Briefversand nicht zu empfehlen. Siegelwachs hingegen enthält einen hohen Wachsanteil wie z.B. Bienenwachs. Da das Wachs auch nach dem Aushärten flexibel bleibt, ist es für den Postversand geeignet.

    Wie verwendet man Siegellack bzw. -wachs?
    Es gibt mehrere Möglichkeiten, Siegellack und -wachs zu verarbeiten. Die verbreitetste Art ist es, den Lack bzw. das Wachs in Stangenform zu kaufen und an einer Flamme abtropfen zu lassen. Russbildung kann vermieden werden, indem Sie eine Spiritusflamme verwenden und die Stange nicht so dicht an die Flamme halten.
    Wenn genug Lack bzw. Wachs abgetropft ist, tauchen Sie die Stange hinein und geben Sie ihm durch leichte, kreisende Bewegungen die gewünschte Form. Anschließend drücken Sie das Siegel für 5 bis 10 Sekunden hinein. Fertig.

    Wie kann ich am besten viele Siegel herstellen?
    Dazu empfiehlt sich die moderne Art des Versiegelns mittels Siegelpistole und Wachssticks. Die Pistole funktioniert im Prinzip wie eine Heissklebepistole. Die Temperatur des Gerätes ist auf den Schmelzpunkt des Wachses eingestellt.

    Was mache ich, wenn mein Siegel Fäden zieht?
    Ihr Siegelstempel ist nach mehrfacher Benutzung zu warm geworden und kann die Energie des heissen Siegellacks nicht mehr aufnehmen. Je kälter der Messingkopf Ihres Siegelstempels, desto schneller kann er den Siegellack abkühlen und erstarren lassen. Kühlen Sie Ihren Siegelstempel zwischendurch im Wasserbad, auf Eis oder einem Kühlakku.

    Kann ich Flaschen oder Rollen siegeln?
    Grundsätzlich lassen sich gewölbten Gegenstände nur schwer besiegeln, da der Siegelstempel plan ist und das flüssige Material herunter laufen kann. Ein Lösungsansatz wäre es, eine Banderole anzufertigen, diese mit flexiblen Wachs zu besiegeln und danach zu befestigen. Oder Sie produzieren einige Siegel aus Siegelwachs auf handelsüblichem Backpapier. Diese können leicht abgelöst und anschließend mit Sekundenkleber an die gewünschte Stellen geklebt werden.

    Wie entferne ich Rückstände aus meinem Siegelstempel?
    Lack- oder Wachsrückstände entfernen Sie am besten mit einem Holzzahnstocher, damit Sie den Siegelstempel nicht zerkratzen. Mit einem in Nagellackentferner oder Brennspiritus getränkten Taschentuch lassen sich auch noch die letzten Reste lösen. Betupfen Sie Ihren Stempel hin und wieder mit etwas Pflanzenöl. Es wirkt wie ein Trennmittel.

    Kann ich auch andere Materialien siegeln?
    Es wurden tolle Ergebnisse auf Schokolade, Keksteig und Ton erzielt. In allen Fällen gilt: Tasten Sie sich an den idealen Festigkeitsgrad der zu besiegelnden Masse sowie den optimalen Zeitpunkt des Abziehens heran.

  • Prägen

    Welches Papier eignet sich zum Prägen?
    Grundsätzlich können Sie mit unseren Prägezangen alle Papiere zwischen 80 und 250 g/m2 prägen. Jedoch gilt der Grundsatz: Je faserhaltiger ein Papier, desto besser kann es die Verformung aufnehmen. Ideal sind möglichst reine Baumwoll- oder Büttenpapiere.

    Was kann ich tun, wenn meine Prägungen nicht schön werden?
    Da jedes Papier auf Grund seiner Stärke und Struktur anders reagiert, sind Feingefühl und etwas Übung gefordert. Testen Sie jedes Papier am besten zuvor und variieren Sie mit dem Druck. Legen Sie beim Prägen von dünnerem Papier zusätzlich einen Karton unter das zu prägende Papier. Auf diese Weise können unschöne Risse so gut wie ausgeschlossen werden.

    Kann ich auch andere Motive mit meiner Prägezange prägen?
    Bei unseren Prägezangen können die Plattenträger ausgetauscht werden. Wenn Sie also ein weiteres Sujet graviert haben möchten, setzten Sie sich gerne mit uns in Verbindung. Für die Produktion eines solchen Plattenträgers muss, je nach Gravuraufwand, mit Kosten um die CHF 60.– gerechnet werden.

    Wie wechsle ich den Plattenträger meiner Prägezange?
    1. Klappen Sie den Hebel der Prägezange senkrecht in die Höhe.
    2. Drücken Sie den Metallplattenträger etwas zusammen und ziehen Sie ihn heraus.
    3. Den neuen Plattenträger ebenfalls leicht zusammendrücken und mit den Kerben nach unten einsetzen bis er einrastet.

  • Digitales

    Wann muss ich JPEG und wann EPS verwenden?
    Bei JPEG-Formaten sind die Bilddaten als einzelne Pixel definiert. JPEGs haben den Vorteil, dass sie auf Grund eines speziellen Kompressionsverfahren eine sehr geringe Dateigrösse aufweisen. Aus diesen beiden Gründen werden sie vorwiegend im digitalen Bereich angewandt. JPEGs können gut verkleinert, sollten aber niemals vergrössert werden, da es sonst zu unschönem Pixeln oder Unschärfen kommen kann. Anwendungsbereiche: Signaturen, Internet-Anwendungen, digitale Präsentationen, …
    Bei den übergebenen EPS-Formaten sind die Konturen Ihres Zeichens als Linien definiert. Diese Daten können beliebig vergrössert und verkleinert werden. Anwendungsbereiche: Gravur, Druck, Stickerei, …
    Mit diesen beiden Dateiformaten sollten sich alle nur erdenklichen Anwendungen realisieren lassen.

    Wie kann ich mein Monogramm in der E-Mail-Signatur verwenden?
    Viele Mail-Programme bieten heute die Möglichkeit, Signaturen mit Bildanhang automatisiert zu erstellen. Suchen Sie dazu am besten in Ihren Programm-Einstellungen nach der Option “Signaturen”. Bei Mac lassen sich Bilder für den Anhang einfach via Drag and Drop integrieren. Bitte beachten Sie, dass Ihr Monogramm hierfür die passende Auflösung braucht (100% Darstellungsgrösse mit 72 dpi).